Approved Learning Frameworks

Under the National Law and Regulations, Footscray Early Learning Centre is required to base its educational program on an approved learning framework. This should focus on addressing the developmental needs, interests and experiences of each child, while taking into account individual differences.

Footscray Early Learning Centre bases its program on the following victorian approved learning framework : Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework

The National Quality Framework (NQF) provides a national approach to regulation, assessment and quality improvement for early childhood education and care services across Australia. All services including Footscray Early Learning Centre is  required to participate in an Assessment and Rating Process through a quality improvement plan.

As part of the Assessment and Rating process we are rated against the National Quality Standards  7 quality standards which include the following

  1. Educational program and practice
  2. Children’s health and safety
  3. Physical environment
  4. Staffing arrangements
  5. Relationships with children
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7. Leadership and service management

The National Quality Standard (NQS) sets a high national benchmark for early childhood education and care services in Australia. The NQS are 7 quality areas that are important outcomes for children.

Services including Footscrays Early Learning Centre are assessed and rated by their regulatory authority against the NQS, and given a rating for each of the 7 quality areas and an overall rating based on these results.

Results are shared with the families on completion of the rating process.

We aim to continue to better our practices through a Quality improvement Plan which is available to all families, staff and visitors. Your input into our Quality Improvement Plan is vital to the ongoing improvement process.

Assessment and rating of services

Services are assessed and rated by their regulatory authority against the NQS, and given a rating for each of the 7 quality areas and an overall rating based on these results.

Find out more on the assessment and rating process and quality ratings.

Quality ratings of assessed services are published on the national registers and on the Starting Blocks website.

There are three concepts that come from the Early Years Learning Framework and that is Belonging, Being and Becoming.

  • Belonging – acknowledges children’s interdependence with others and the basis of relationships in defining identities.
  • Being – recognises the significance of the here and now in children’s lives.
  • Becoming – reflects the process of rapid and significant change that occurs in the early years as young children learn and grow.

Play activities planned by our educators allow children to naturally develop and have the opportunity to guide their own learning. Activity outcomes and individual observations on your child are documented in your children’s files to assist in extending their skills and abilities.

Working in partnership with families, our educators use the learning outcomes to guide their planning for children’s learning. In order to engage children actively in learning, our educators identify the children’s strengths and interests, choose appropriate teaching strategies and design the learning environment.

Our routines allow time for individual play/learning, small group play/learning and large group play. We encourage children to be curious, to ask questions and learn from each other, their environment and the stimulus we provide them.